Dr. Bjarne Heian was the community physician in the Knapp area from 1934-1946. Dr. Heian and his children established this scholarship through a Trust with Menomonie Area Public Schools Foundation as a method of thanking the community of Knapp where he began his medical practice.

Scholarships are made available to Menomonie High School graduating seniors with a minimum GPA of 3.0 who are pursuing a four year degree or a technical college degree.  Eligibility also includes elementary school attendance at Knapp elementary school for at least one year. A letter of recommendation is required.

Every year the Knapp Parent Advisory Committee is given the duty of choosing past students to be awarded the Heian Scholarship.

Projected Number of Scholarships and Amounts. The amount of the scholarship shall be $1,000 and the number of awards may change annually.

Award Criteria:

  • Applicants must be graduating seniors at Menomonie High School with a minimum 3.0 GPA and have spent at least one year at Knapp Elementary School
  • Applicants must be pursuing continuing post-secondary education at a four year university or two year technical college
  • Applicants must submit at least one letter of recommendation
  • This scholarship is renewable for up to four years.





2014 Recipients


Cody Whirry

“I plan to attend Drake University in Des Moines, Iowa and double major in software engineering and marketing”


Shania Merritt

“I will be attending UW Oshkosh in the fall of 2014. I am currently undecided on my major, but I am deciding between Nursing and Athletic training. I want to do something in the healthcare field and these two careers are the most interesting to me. I would like to do something where I am helping others.”


“I plan on earning a bachelor’s degree in nursing at the University of Wisconsin Eau Claire.”












casino slots bonuses at first deposit oddstake online slots games no deposit bonus for new players